Scriptural Way of the Cross - as used by Saint John Paul II on Good Friday 1991, in the Colosseum, Rome

Before each station we pray:

We adore thee, O Christ and we bless thee, because by thy Holy Cross thou hast redeemed the world.

Then we read the scripture (see below) and spend a few moments of silence meditating on the reading.

Then we pray:

I love thee, Jesus, My Love above all things. I repent with my whole heart for having offended thee. Never permit me to separate myself from thee again. Grant that I may love thee always and then do with me what thou wilt.

Our Father……   Hail Mary……….   Glory be ………


The Stations

1.  Jesus in the Garden of Gethsemane  Mt 26:36-46

2.  Jesus is betrayed by Judas and arrested  Mt 26:47-56

3.  Jesus is condemned by the Sanhedrin  Mt 26:57-68

4.  Jesus is denied by Peter  Mt 26:69-75

5.  Jesus is judged by Pilate Mt 27:1-2, 11-26a

6.  Jesus is scourged and crowned with thorns  Mt 27:26b-30

7.  Jesus takes up his cross  Mt 27:31

8.  Simon helps Jesus carry his cross  Mt 27:32

9.  Jesus meets the daughters of Jerusalem  Lk 23:27-31

10. Jesus is crucified  Mt 27:33-38

11. Jesus promises a place in heaven to the repentant thief  Lk 23:32-33, 39-43

12. Jesus entrusts Mary and John to each other  Jn 19:25-27

13. Jesus dies on the cross Mt 27:45-50

14. Jesus is laid in the tomb Mt 27:57-66

Upcoming Events